Monday, April 1, 2013

February 13, 2013 ~ 50 Year Club Minutes

FEBRUARY 13, 2013

The meeting was called to order by President R. E. Mason. The following officers were present: First Vice-President Hank Gayler, Second Vice-President Jo Murphy, Secretary Marguriete Crum, Corresponding Secretary Neta Mason, Historian Judy Shubert, and representatives of Classes 1942 thru 1964.

Neta Mason made the motion to accept the minutes of the November 14, 2012 meeting; the motion was seconded by Bobby Blackwell and motion carried.

Marguriete Crum gave the following financial report. Jo Murphy made the motion to accept the financial report; the motion was seconded by Diane Long and motion carried.

Renovation                            $   5,576.00
Membership                               4,118.60
Scholarship                                 5,096.67

Total                                      $  14,791.27   

Under Old Business President Mason reported the Financial Fundraising Committee had their first meeting in January 2013. Those present were President Mason, First Vice-President Hank Gayler and Carolyn Hickey. They discussed several fundraising ideas: one was to accept from each class donations of $2,000, of which $1,000 would go toward redoing the brick sidewalk, and the remaining $1,000 would go toward the renovation of the Home Economics building.

President Mason appointed a Nominating Committee with Linda McDonell serving as chairperson. Others serving on the committee are Linda Stevens, Bobby Blackwell, Earl Medlin and Marguriete Crum.

The members of the Scholarship Committee appointed by President Mason are Raymond Brewton, chairperson, Hank Gayler, June Roden, and Johnowene Hall.

Lou Warren was appointed chairperson of the Food Committee with Bobby Blackwell serving with her.

Margaret Strain made a motion we have a live auction at the reunion; the motion died due to lack of a second. An auction committee was established with Margaret Strain, Barbara Elliston and R. E. Mason serving.

Marguriete Crum made a motion to have a “Split The Pot” at the reunion to raise money for the Scholarship Fund.

Dora Gonzales Caldoron and Marilyn McQueary Brock, representatives of the class of 1964 were introduced.

Jo Murphy made the motion to adjourn; the motion was seconded by Bobby Blackwell, and the meeting was adjourned.

Next meeting will be held April 10, 2013.

_______________________  / ______________________
      R.E. Mason, President                 Marguriete Crum, Secretary


MWHS 50 Year Club
Board Meeting
10:00 A.M.

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

First United Methodist Church
301 N.E. 1st Street
Mineral Wells, Texas

R. E. Mason
Class of 1949


No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! We love your comments. If you do not have a Google account and would like to leave your name just leave the URL blank. Again, thank you so much.