Friday, June 28, 2013

Executive Board Meeting - June 14, 2013

JUNE 14, 2013

The meeting was called to order by President R. E. Mason. The following officers were present:  First Vice President Hank Gayler, Second Vice President Jo Murphy, Secretary Marguriete Crum, Corresponding Secretary Neta Mason, and Historian Judy Shubert. Also present were representatives of Classes 1941 thru 1964.

Jo Murphy made the motion to accept the minutes of April 10, 2013 after correction. Seconded by Linda McDonell, the motion carried.

Marguriete Crum gave the following financial report:
                             Renovation                    $  9,330.62
                             Membership                  $  4,665.16
                             Scholarship                    $  3,347.22
                                  Total                          $17,343.00

The motion to accept financial report was made by Linda McDonell, seconded by Lou Warren and unanimously carried.

Judy Shubert, Historian, reported she is moving to North Carolina and the new historians will be Kay Stone Cox and Angie Richards Pruett. Judy stated she would continue to assist the historians remotely by keeping the blog, website, and items on the computer. She informed the Board members that the 50 Year Club memorabilia collection has been moved out of public storage and is now being stored in a private home until other arrangements can be made in a local climate controlled environment.

Old Business
R. E. Mason explained the relinquishing of the Old High School, Band Hall and Senior Center back to the Mineral Wells Independent School District. The 50 Year Club will make a request to the MWISD to deed property located at 215 N. W. 5th Ave. (the Lillian Peek Cottage - Old Home Economics Building and Amphitheater) as shown on current survey to the Club with the stipulation if the Club discontinues to use the property as an office, meeting place and other club functions and available to the public for a fee to help with the maintenance, the property will be turned back to the District. The motion was made by Hank Gayler to relinquish the above mentioned property and seconded by Linda McDonell. Motion carried with one opposed.

Neta Mason explained the registration form for the reunion.

Georgia Dowdy submitted a check for $500.00 by a classmate toward the renovation of the Old Home Economics Building.

New Business
Linda McDonell, chairperson of the nominating committee submitted the following names for officers for the 2013 - 2014 year:

President:  Hank Gayler, Class of 1957
First Vice President:  Terry Brock, Class of 1963
Second Vice President:  Jo Murphy, Class of 1959
Treasurer:  Earl Medlin, Class of 1960
Recording Secretary:  Marguriete Crum, Class of 1959
Corresponding Secretary:  Neta Mason, Class of 1950

The motion to accept this slate of officers was made by Lou Warren and seconded by Georgia Dowdy. The motion carried.

Marguriete Crum nominated Jean Harrington, class of 1946, as Coming Home Queen; seconded by Neta Mason, the motion carried.

Linda McDonell made the motion to adjourn; seconded by Helen Luckett, the meeting was adjourned.

__________________   /  _____________________
R.E. Mason, President     Marguriete Crum, Secretary

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for stopping by! We love your comments. If you do not have a Google account and would like to leave your name just leave the URL blank. Again, thank you so much.